Town SK Presidents election tomorrow

SK presidents
Mayor Felipe Antonio Remollo poses with 30 newly elected Sangguniang Kabataan Chairperson's after the mass oath taking, Tuesday at the session hall. Also seated with Mayor Remollo from (left to right) Youth Development Officer Tigie Tanilon, City Local Government Operations Officer Aquilina Eltanal, Councilor Karissa Tolentino-Maxino, Mayor Remollo, Councilor Michael Bandal and Councilor Joe Kenneth Arbas.

DUMAGUETE CITY – All the 557 Sangguniang Kabataan Chairpersons across the province will be exercising their right to suffrage anew tomorrow as they will make their bids or elect their respective SK Federation Presidents in the 25 cities and municipalities.

All the elected 25 SK Federation Presidents will sit as ex-officio members of the City and Municipal Councils with full voting rights, powers and privileges including salaries and bonuses as the regularly elected members.

Dumaguete City Local Government Operations Officer Aquilina Eltanal of the Department of Interior and Local Government explains that all the SK Chairpersons will be undergoing a whole day seminar powers, functions, internal rules of the SK Federation tomorrow, May 28.

Later in the day, the Board of Election Supervisors composed of the DILG, Commission on Election and Sanggunian Secretary will manage the
nomination, voting and proclamation of the winning SK officers.

Positions to be filled up by election of the SK Federation are: President, Vice-President, Secretary, Treasurer, Auditor, PRO and Sgt. At arms.

Only SK Chairpersons, BES and Panel of Observers composed of the representatives from PNP, Civil Society Groups and Department of Education will be allowed inside the room.

As soon as the winners are declared, the oath taking ceremony will swiftly follow to be administered by the Local-Chief-Executive.

All the 25 elected SK Federation Presidents of the towns and cities will be convened within the month of June by the Povincial DILG to undergo another round of elections, this time to determine the officers of the Provincial SK Federation, whose President will serve as ex-officio member of the Sangguniang Panlalawigan.