6 bets for chairman unopposed in Dgte

6 bets for chairman unopposed in Dgte
2 Barangay Chairman and 4 SK Chairman secured their positions for Barangay elections 2018.

DUMAGUETE CITY – Six candidates for Punong Barangay or Chairman and Sangguniang Kabataan Chairman in Dumaguete City are already sure winners as they are running unopposed in the upcoming elections on May 14.

Two incumbent Punong Barangays Dione Amores of Motong and Nelson Ablir of Poblacion 5 will be cruising to another term in the absence of a challenger.

Meanwhile, four candidates for Sangguniang Kabataan Chairman are also considered winners even prior to the elections after no other candidate filed for the same position even after the announcement that the filing of Certificate of candidacy has been extended by one more day.

The four candidates, who will assume the post as SK Chairman in their barangays without challenge are Christianne Marie Oropel of Poblacion 5, Del Franz Consing Ladura of Poblacion 3, Allien Bhern Cornelio Perater of Poblacion 4 and Henry Torda Pinero II of Poblacion 6.

City Commission on Elections Officer Atty. Gildu Agoncillo bared that 971 candidates filed their COCs for Punong Barangay (80); Barangay Kagawads (583); SK Chairman (90) and SK Kagawads (218).

Barangays with the most number of candidates aspiring for Punong Barangay are: Taclobo with five candidates namely: Ebenzer Corsame Aranez, Roger Estorco Bohol, Marlon Baybay Diputado, Edwin Simon Suasin and Kent Renacia Suasin; Batinguel: Peter Catan, Frankie Sia Credo, Reynaldo Baybay Pinili Jr, Rodrigo Lumaya Suarez Jr. and Ben Tomarong Viernes and Junob: Franklin Elman Llorente, Jimmy Petil Merto, Feliz Bungcasan Orillana, Jeremiah Caro Orillana and Maximino Orillana Umbac Jr.

Interestingly, all the incumbent Punong Barangays Isagani Bana of Junob, Nicolas Ramirez of Batinguel and Gregorio Suasin Jr. Of Taclobo are term limited and are running for Barangay Kagawad. Other barangays with four candidates for Punong Barangay are: Piapi, Poblacion 1 (Tinago), Pulantubig and Tabuc-Tubig.

On the other hand, it is a one-on-one contest for Punong Barangay in other barangays as there are only two candidates vying for the position like in Bagacay, Balugo, Bantayan, Bunao, Calindagan, Camanjac, Candau-ay, Cantil-e, Daro, Mangnao, Poblacion 2, Poblacion3, Poblacion 4, Poblacion 6, Poblacion 7 and Poblacion 8.