25 student leaders from DepEd Dumaguete inducted


DUMAGUETE CITY – 25 student leaders of DepEd Dumaguete City Division took their oaths of office on July 17, 2018 at the DepEd Dumaguete Convergence Zone.

The Induction Ceremony of the Division Federated Supreme Pupil and Student Government (SPG/SSG) Officers of DepEd Dumaguete City Division was led by Dumaguete City Mayor Felipe Antonio Remollo. Mayor Remollo reminded the student leaders to be always selfless and be of service to others. He further emphasized the importance of humility in serving the student populace as he was also a student leader when he was in college. “When I entered politics, I was very young, “Mayor Remollo shared. “Nobody knew me. I was not part of any political party and people told me that I could never win. But, I persevered and luckily, I won.”

Also present during the ceremony were Deped Dumaguete key officials including Assistant Schools Division Superintendent Neri C. Ojastro who, in his speech, stressed the essence of being grounded and the need to influence students in order to gather them into action.

Newly-elected Federated SPG President Lady Althea Castro presented their future initiatives which included a monthly religious faith activity, reading tutorials, solid waste management plan for all schools, and leading the conduct of the flag ceremony weekly. Federated SSG President Mark Krylle Paitan, meanwhile, said that the SSG will lead in organizing a youth jam for all students from different religious sectors, spearhead a zero waste campaign in all schools, and hold a forum with government and non-government organizations to help the city solve the problem on waste. The plans of both the SPG and SSG are anchored on the four core values of DepEd which are Makatao, Maka- Diyos, Makakalikasan, and Makabansa.

Apart from the aforementioned presidents, the following were inducted to office as well: SPG Vice-President Niña Quesha A. Vallega; SSG Vice-President Peter Cadmias; SPG Secretary John Paolo Entico; SSG Secretary Trisha Gwyneth Aquino; SPG Treasurer Zoe Kate Arbas; SSG Treasurer Faye Belle Mamba; SPG Auditor Hazel Faith Carsido; SSG Auditor Yushra Samsurin; SPG Public Relations Officer Emmanuel Madaiton; SSG Public Relations Officer Brette Madel Panday; SPG Peace Officer Aiah Joyce Lauron; and SSG Peace Officer Noime Verador.

The officers will serve a one-year term and will help organize activities and propose projects for the Division of Dumaguete City.